The institute was established in October 1998 G. based on the unification of the Research Institute of Molecular Pathology and Ecological Biochemistry (year of formation 1992) and Research Institute of Medical and Biological Cybernetics (year of formation 1992) Siberian Branch of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences.

AT 2018 year, the Institute became part of the FIC FTM as a structural subdivision.

Work at the Institute 132 employee, including 75 scientific staff, of them 2 Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences, 9 doctors and 38 PhDs.

The works of the Institute were awarded the Prize of the Council of Ministers of the USSR (1985 Mr.), Prizes of the Russian Academy of Medical Sciences named after. N.I. Pirogov (1994 Mr.), State Prize for Science and Technology of the Russian Federation 1998 of the year, Prizes of the Government of the Russian Federation in the field of science and technology (2005 Mr.)
The Institute is headed by Valentin Andreevich Vavilin, Doctor of Medical Sciences.